Any one who know me, knows I am a sucker for a schedule, or a list, or a calendar.  While I still swear by them, I also see how sometimes my reliance on them can also be a little paralyzing.  This has really proven to be true with baby #2.  With my first, I followed the pediatrician’s recommendation of doing tummy time for 10-20 minutes 3 times a day to a T.  It was like sirens went off…
 

Everyone stop what you are doing, installment 1 of today’s tummy time will commence immediately!!

The whole world stopped while we did our required time.  And I had all the appropriate gear too; the mat, the black and white toy, the mirror, what ever else some expert told me was needed for a successful tummy time session.
 

Fast forward a few years and I found that, with a preschooler to keep after, my schedules were harder to stick to with the second baby, including my regimented tummy time.  While having coffee with a friend and a recent new mom to her second child, she asked how I found time for things like tummy time with my second.

 

Well, I had found a way to get in tummy time and of course the idea came from my mom.  I mean, mother knows best right?  After I lamented to her that the baby wasn’t getting enough tummy time because I couldn’t figure out how to fit in the longer sessions, she suggested that every time I do a diaper changes, I just flip the baby over for a few minutes on her tummy.  So after 6 or 7 or 8 or 10 diaper changes in a day, each few minutes adds up to plenty of total time.  I also found that if I put her on her tummy in her crib while I went to wash my hands, I could rack up a few more minutes.  By not being so concerned with the exact right way to do something, she was actually getting more time on her tummy and I was less worried.
 

My friend said, “That’s brilliant!  You should write a blog post about that”
 

So I did.

