Brady helping make our garden smoothie

I have completed my  first week of green smoothies and I have to say….I think I am hooked! (if you missed the recipe, here it is)

I feel healthier, I’ve been taking better care of myself in other areas of my life, and I actually enjoyed my smoothie routine! In fact, I want to say so much about it, I decided to write a whole post just about taking better care of ourselves as wives and mothers.  Stay tuned TOMORROW for that post.

But for today…Lets turn it over to Selena and this week’s smoothie.  I will admit, when I saw the name of this smoothie, Radiate with Red, I was afraid it was going to be beets..and I was right.  I am not a huge fan of beets.  Selena offered to change the recipe, but after reading all the health benefits, I decided to dive in and try it!.

Read below for all the details.

************************************************************************************************************************

This week’s green smoothie is actually RED.  It will make for a prettier drink that may stimulate your senses visually!  The main ingredients are beets and carrots.  Why?  Let me tell you!

Beet benefits:
Red beets are a great carbohydrate/protein blend and are an excellent source of folic acid.

They are full of antioxidants that have been used for as preventative and treatment for heart disease, certain cancer treatments, and birth defects.

The pigment that gives beets their red color, Betacyanin, increases the oxygen-carrying ability of your blood which can give you more energy.

It also contains nitric oxide, which dilates arteries to improve blood, alleviate high blood pressure, and help prevent varicose veins!!

The fiber in beets helps reduce serum cholesterol.

Beets are known as powerful blood cleansers and blood builders.

Beet juice is highly alkaline which is very beneficial in our “processed nation” acidic bodies.

Red beets have also been known to help with the following:  Constipation, headaches, toothaches, menstrual issues, and skin problems.

And don’t forget the beet greens! Those leafy greens can be thrown in your smoothie too!  They are rich in beta-carotene, folic acid, chlorophyll, potassium, vitamin C, and iron.

Here are the benefits of our orange friend, the carrot:

Carrots are known for their high level of beta-carotene, but they also have a great blend of carbohydrate and protein, and vitamins C, E, and K.  Remember that vitamins in WHOLE FOOD work completely different than mega-dosed vitamins in your daily multi.

Carrot can enhance the quality of breast milk.

Carrot can improve the appearance of the skin, hair and nails.

Carrots have been shown to lower cholesterol, blood pressure, and regulate blood sugar.

Carrots have a great antioxidant – betacarotene.

Carrot can help improve eyesight.

The fiber in carrots can promote colon health.

On to the Smoothie!!!
RADIATE WITH RED

12 oz of water
¼ c beets shredded**
3/4 c carrots shredded
2 large lettuce leaves or 3 small beet greens*
1 cup frozen strawberries
1 TB chia seeds (or ground flax)
1 TB honey (or more if needed)

Extra add-ins:
½ tsp Brewer’s yeast or 1 tsp nutritional yeast (they are NOT the same thing)
1-2 TB coconut oil (I used 1.5 TB)
½ tsp stevia – if you need it a little sweeter
2 large ice cubes – if you like it really cold!

*beet greens and swiss chard are the more bitter of the greens.  Using delicate greens like spinach or dark green lettuce can help you transition to the “garden taste” of these smoothies!
**I added in the shredded amounts for those of you who do not have a high powered blender.

You might also notice a red tint to your urine- totally normal with beets!

For more information on how to eat for energy using the foods you may already have in your home, please feel free to visit my website www.RadiantLifeHealthCounseling.com.  And, of course, join in on my mission:  surviving motherhood, growing Godly children, and being great stewards of the planet at www.1MomsMission.com.

Statements made are not promising the cure of disease.

********

Want to skip ahead and read all the smoothie posts now?

Green Smoothie Challenge- Week 1- Garden Green Smoothie

Green Smoothie Challenge- Week 2- Radiate with RED

Green Smoothie Challenge- Week 3- Fruits of Autumn 

Green Smoothie Challenge -Week 4- 2! Herbs and Dessert

