Vicks SpeedRead Digital Thermometer (Oral, Rectal, Under Arm)

Nothing is more heart breaking than when one of your children is sick, especially a baby.

My sweet little thing was sick this weekend and it is so hard to know what is going on when they are too young to tell you.

Like so many of us these days, I turned to the internet for some advice (plus, why do kids ALWAYS get sick outside of your doctors hours?)

On this site for familydoctor.org, I found a great flow chart for diagnosing illnesses.   I found it very helpful for deciding what to do for my daughter’s low-grade fever.  I think this would be hand to bookmark or print for future illness as well.

I could’t cut and paste the whole document, so see the original chart here

In addition to the chart, here is more information on how to take a baby’s temperature, when to medicate, when to call the doctor and other tips for dealing with a fever in a baby.

While on the site, I saw that they have all sorts of flow charts for adults and children’s symptoms.  Here is one on nausea and vomiting in children that could also come in handy!

The good news is everyone is feeling better this morning….until next weekend!

