I have been following the ladies of Hot Sweaty Mamas on facebook for a while and I love what they have to say about being a busy mom and fit mom at the same time.

This is something I have been struggling with personally since my second child was born.  Even thought I know everything there is to know about postnatal fitness, I have been struggling with, how do I find the time, energy and motivation to put that knowledge into practice. And I know I can’t be the only mom out there that feels this way, right?

So, when the ladies from Hot Sweaty Mamas asked for help promoting their book; Hot Sweaty Mamas; Five Secrets to Life as a Fit Mom, I was all in!  I was excited for personal reasons, as well as for my readers.

Stay tuned for this Thursday, November 17 when Laurie Lethert Kocanda (one half of hot sweaty mamas) will be guest posting here on a topic near and dear to my heart- Goodbye, Mother Guilt: The secret to staying committed is letting go.

They also, generously, sent me two copies of their book; one for me to read and one for me to GIVE AWAY to you!!!

Let me tell you a few things that I am SUPER excited about in this book.

  1. Right out of the gate on page 3, they have fitness tips from real moms, like the mom who jumps up and down like a frog (complete with ribbits) in front of her baby’s highchair, baby entertainment and a workout!
  2. The chapters are short, with great headlines, bullet points and sidebars; its easy to read, even with kids around
  3. It is filled with great tips and quotes like; “Be as good to your body as you are to your children” (I am writing that one down!)
  4. They touch on EVERYTHING we are going through as busy moms.  This is not a “how to get your body back” book.  This is a realistic look at your life and how you can fit in your health into your everyday world. Here are some of my favorite topics from the book

*Taking inventory of your priorities

*How to find time with four time tricks for fit mom

*How to rethink the fuel you feed your body an dhow to prepare it fast

*How to gain support from those around you and what to do when you don’t get the support you need

*Exercise strategies for infants and toddlers in tow

But my favorite parts of the whole book, come at the very end.

  • A 28 day challenge– I love challenges like this.  A week-by-week guide to get your healthy mojo back.
  • A priority inventory exercise– A great guide to make sure your values translate into priorities and making your priorities guide your day.

What to check some out for yourself?  Here is an excerpt from the book.

From Chapter 3: Making Room for Family and Fitness

And be sure to check back on Thursday for Laurie’s guest post and your chance to win your own copy of the book!

 

**My integrity as a blogger is important to me. Although I was given 2 copies of the book by the publishers, I am not being paid for my involvement and all opinions are my own** 

