Guest Post by Life Coach, Sharon Lincoln, PCC

Once you’ve embodied your goal, find an anchor to remind you

If you are like me, you’ve had some of the same New Year’s resolution year after year. There were times I was close to achieving my goals, only to ultimately fall short in the end.  I was so focused on the task at hand that I often lost site of what it meant to actually achieve my goals. It wasn’t until I changed my perspective around goal setting and making resolutions that I finally succeeded in creating the life I want. As the new year approaches and you create your resolutions, ask yourself this question:

What’s important about this resolution to me?

For example, if weight loss is your objective:

Imagine being at your ideal weight, what does that look like? How does it feel?  Instead of focusing on the challenge of dieting and exercising, think of the results. Pay close attention to how it feels in your body when you envision being at 100%.

Once you’ve embodied this feeling, find an anchor that will remind you of this goal. Perhaps your anchor is a pair of jeans that you yearn to fit into, or a picture of yourself at your ideal. For some, an anchor can be a piece of jewelry that they wear as a reminder, or a slogan written on a sticky note. Find the one that works for you and visit it often along your journey.

So often we create goals and spend our energy focusing on what it takes to get to where we want to be. Spend a few moments everyday focusing on what the outcome would bring to your life and relish in that feeling of fulfillment. Though you may not reach your goals overnight, by taking the time to enjoy the process it will remind you of what you are working towards, living the life of your dreams.

**Enjoying Sharon’s posts?  Check out her other BUMP Life posts;**

Season of Change: Removing the Triggers  

Season of Change: Change Your Geography 

Creating Space for Change


Sharon Lincoln, PCC, is a Certified Personal and Professional Coach. She is a working mom of two, and can be reached at sharonlincoln5@gmail.com

