Into everyone’s life…a little glass gets broken

Today’s post was supposed to be about finding time for fitness during the busy holiday season.  But that isn’t going to happen today for much the same reason fitness sometimes doesn’t happen… something unexpected came up.

Last night, we had 3 of our very closest friends over for dinner (you know those friends whom your kids call auntie and uncle, even though they are not blood related to you?)  We were having a delicious dinner of local crab, when ‘uncle’s’ chair slipped out from under him and shot backwards….straight through our plate glass window.

My stomached dropped.

First because someone could have really been hurt.  (Yes, mom, I know you have been warning me about those windows)  But after we confirmed there was no blood, all I could think about was the money we’d be bleeding instead.

This, of course, is on the heels of an unexpected vet bill, on the heels of a larger than planned dental bill and with a huge car repair looming.  And doesn’t it always seem to happen right around the holidays?

It is so easy to get caught up in what is not going right or the unexpected challenges we face.

Whether it is the world’s challenges; unemployment, the housing market, war torn nations, students at my alma mater getting pepper sprayed or our own little world’s challenges, its easy to lose sight of the little things that are right in our world.

Today, my 3-year- old woke up in that gray area of the morning where it is really too early for a proper wake up call, but too late to tell him he has to go back to sleep.   So I asked him if he wanted to come snuggle in mommy and daddy’s bed…to which he said, yes, of course.   As I lay there sharing a pillow with a scruffy little bed-head while daddy rubbed his back, I just smiled.

A few minutes later the baby woke up and we brought her into bed too, even the boston terrier scampered under the covers.  There we all were, watching cartoons, drinking our milks and coffees, the kids making each other laugh.  And I looked at my husband and said,

“This is what is important.”

Sure, I had wanted to get up early and go for a run.  Sure, I had a whole list of things to do today other than call to find out about glass replacement.  Sure, I can think of a million things I’d rather spend the repair money on.

But in the end, its family and relationships that matter.

After the window broke, we sat around with our friends and talked about the butterfly effect; what if we would have chosen to eat at a restaurant instead, if we hadn’t used the flimsy folding chairs, if I hadn’t changed the orientation of the dinning room table earlier in the week…

But in the end, I wouldn’t have traded that evening with incredibly special friends that are as close as family.  I wouldn’t have traded those few moments this morning that reminded me where my priorities are right now.

The glass will get fixed.  The credit card will get paid off.  The holiday workout article will get posted.

But ‘uncle’ may never live down his epic chair dismount.

