Ok, maybe 10 minutes won’t change your life, but if you are anything like me it is easy to feel completely overwhelmed with everything that has to get done, especially this time of year.  So when I am starting to feel a little frantic, I try to break things down a little (either that, or I just have a break down….but lets try this way first)

Ready?  Do this with me right now!

Minute 1:  Stand up and do 10 squats. 

No, really, do it right now.  You don’t have to download a new playlist to your iPod or change into workout clothes.  Just stand up and do 10 squats.

Ready? 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

Done!

Sit back down, doesn’t that feel good?  And even if you can’t get to any other workout today, you did 10 squats.  Good Job!

Minutes 2-6:  Go sort something

It can’t be a closet or a whole room, you only have 5 minutes, but just do a speed clean-out of something.  I just did my son’s bath toys.  And you know what?  I just tossed all the grungy, moldy ones right into the trash.  Sure, I could have soaked them in a bleach solution or run them through the dishwasher, but I’ve been staring at them every morning for weeks thinking I should do that, and I haven’t done it.  So now it’s done.  AND new bath toys will make a perfect stocking stuffer.

Other ideas?  Your wallet, your make-up bag, your entry way table, the drawer in your bedside table, that catch-all basket on your end table.

Minute 7-10:  Send a Text

Get out your phone (or email if you’d rather), enter your partner, or your mom, or your best friend, or better yet, that mom you met at the playground six months ago and exchanged numbers so you could meet up again and never did.  Enter that name and then type this message:

Hi!  I just wanted to tell you I am thinking about you.  I know this time of year gets so busy, I just wanted to say I am glad you are in my life

Hit send.

As crazy as life gets, our relationships are always the most important.  In this day and age of texts, email, and facebook, it is so easy to send a quick message to tell someone you are thinking of them.  I often put off calling a friend until I have ‘more time’ to talk.  But sending that quick messages helps you stay connected and I promise, it will brighten someone else’s day too.

So there you go!  10 minutes and look at all you accomplished.  Feels good, huh!  And I DO believe, that good feeling WILL change your life.

Now go get back to the other things on your list!  Go!

