Take a few minutes to make someone smile!

I CAN SEE!!!!!

No literally, I can see.  Last night, my husband and I changed light bulb in the overhead light in our bedroom that has been burned out for at least a month. It’s a 3 bulb light, so we weren’t in total darkness, but still…

Why had we waited weeks to do that?!?!

It took less than 5 minutes. I actually had the lightbulb we needed in our lightbulb ‘box’, no trip to the store.  My husband could reach by standing on the bed, no ladder needed.  I wiped out the glass cover while he changed the bulb and with a flip of the switch we were back in business.

It really got me thinking about how we put off things that we think are going to be harder than they are or take more time or money than they do.  And how, as we leave those annoying tasks on our to-do lists, they also take up space in our brain and affect our psyche.  For weeks, every time I walked into our room and turned on the too-dim light, I was annoyed.  When I walked into our room later last night, I genuinely felt happiness, I actually smiled at the light!

Making one small change makes a difference!!

Can I apply this to some other items on my to do list?  How about my own health and fitness?

A few weeks ago I wrote a post about taking 10 minutes to change your life.  It turned out to be one of my most viewed posts of all time. I think the idea of changing our life 10 minutes at a time is appealing to a lot of us.

Little things add up to big changes

SO, Here is part 2 in our 10 minute challenge.  Do this with me and let me know how it goes

Minute 1:  Seated ab pulses

Sit tall and draw your belly button into your spine without holding your breath (i.e. use your ab muscles not your diaphragm) and release.  Repeat that pulse 30 times.  Its harder than you think!

Minute 2 and 3: Write a Secret Note

Tell your partner you love them on a scrap of paper and put it in his or her jacket pocket. Or draw a smily face on a sticky note and stick in to your kids’ bathroom mirror.  Or write “have a nice day” on a scrap of paper and leave it on a stranger’s windshield.

This activity does two things.  It makes you take 2 minutes to stop and think about someone who is important to you and it tells that person you took the time to let them know they are important to you.  Both of you will be smiling, I guarantee it!

Minute 4-10: Go change that lightbulb

Or what ever that nagging task is on your list that you just need to DO.  Put away the serving dish still out from the holidays because it goes on a high shelf.  Clean out the old leftovers from the fridge.  Call to make that appointment you have been meaning too.  Write that last thank you card to your great aunt.

Ahhhh…..doesn’t that feel good??

