Breakfast is the most important meal of the day.

Yeah, Yeah, we all know that right?

But despite being a personal trainer with a degree in nutrition, I’ll admit to skipping breakfast.  On any given morning, I am either leaving the house at 5am under a shroud of silence to ensure my family stays asleep for a few more hours or hustling and bustling about to get everyone else fed, dressed and entertained.

It not that I don’t like breakfast, or don’t have anything in the house, but by the time I think of myself, I often settle for a Latte, maybe a banana. OR a pastry from the coffee shop.

As part of my New Years Resolution, I committed to put my own heath first more often and breakfast seemed like a good place to start. I operate better when I have a plan, so I made a list of quick, healthy breakfasts on a sticky note and put it on my fridge;

Hard boiled eggs on the weekends

A hard boiled egg and a piece of sprouted wheat toast with butter: The easiest to peel recipe I have found is to cover the eggs with cold water, bring to a boil, then turn of off the heat for 10-12 minutes.  The secret ingredient is to add a heaping tablespoon of salt to the water while you’re boiling the eggs, makes them super easy to peel.

 

Are you on team "chunky" or "creamy"?

Apple slices with peanut butter: This is also a great snack for after a workout or when you need a ‘treat’ but are trying to avoid sugar

 

 

A whole wheat tortilla with almond butter and banana slices rolled up: This is another easy one to take in the car.

 

All packed in my bag and ready to go

A high quality meal replacement bar  and an orange: This is my go to early  morning breakfast.  I can actually put it in my bag the night before, no hassle in the morning!  My favorite brand of bar is the “Kind” brand.  I love the almond/coconut!

 

 

 

 

 

Steel cut oatmeal with almonds and raisins: Wait, you say, steel cut oatmeal takes 30 minutes to cook?  Yes, but you can make a big batch over the weekend and just reheat it during the week.  You can even make it in the crockpot overnight.

Frozen or fresh berries and yogurt are easy!

 

Greek yogurt with berries: Even frozen berries work great.

 


Green Smoothie:  We did some great recipes for green smoothies here, here, here and here.  But when I am really in a hurry, my favorite recipe is;

½ banana

a handful of frozen spinach

almond milk

water

ice

protein powder or scoop of nut butter (optional)

 

This is a special treat!

Now I have no excuses to not eat a healthy breakfast and I can save the pastry for a doughnut date with my 3 year old!

What is your favorite quick, healthy breakfast? 

