Do you rely on this to get you through the day? Me too…lets learn more.

A few weeks ago, a friend, fellow fitness educator, blogger and mom (in fact, when we met I think she was just barely pregnant with her first son) asked me to take part in her series on adrenal fatigue she was running on her blog www.radliferocks.com.

I’ll admit, I was hesitant at first.

First, because I am “so busy” (and I put that in quotes because saying you’re so busy is almost a cliché these days; yeah, yeah Megan, we are all busy). The thought of putting one more thing on my plate just seemed too overwhelming.

Second, because I didn’t know anything about adrenal fatigue and a quick google search left me a little skeptical.  I have a background in nutrition, it was my major in college and some of my professors were and are at the forefront of Nutrition Science.  I also freely admit that it is a growing and evolving science that I certainly don’t know everything about, but between my educational background and my years of being a personal trainer, I feel like I get a bit jaded by whatever the next nutrition trend is.  I feel like I have heard it all;

“Oh, you’re not eating gluten? I see.”

“No, I haven’t tried the Paleo diet.”

“Yes, lots of people are doing South Beach”

“I am sure your uncle did lose 30 pounds on Atkins”

I figured adrenal fatigue might just be the next thing on that list of trends.  But I agreed to go along with it because Selena is awesome and she was a huge help to me on my blog with her series on Green Smoothies.
 Then I read her post, and to quote Selena;

“So I went on my way, doing what I do best: EVERYTHING.  I am a very driven person, and push myself to be great. It is unacceptable for me to aim for anything less than the stars.”

I chuckled because she was describing me. She went on to talk about what she had done in the last few years;

  • Had 2 kids- check!
  • Took on new clients- check!
  • Started a blog- check!
  • Tried to be a good wife and mother- check and check!
  • Family drama- check!

She felt like things were falling apart. She was fighting nagging injuries. She was often emotional.  She was always feeling exhausted.  She was feeling a little extra padding around the middle.  She was relying on coffee and too much sugar to get her through the day.  I couldn’t have described my life better myself.

Even this afternoon, my to-do list said, write adrenal post, but I had just got the baby to sleep and I thought, “I could raid the kids Easter candy, make an iced coffee and watch trashy TV instead.”

And I realized, I NEEDED to write this post!  Not because I promised Selena, but because I needed to find out what I could do to listen to my body better.  I needed to get the information on adrenal fatigue, test out some solutions and make my own conclusion about what is going on for me and I am sure for many, many moms out there.

So, come with me as I learn about Adrenal Fatigue and test out Selena’s theories and solutions.  Am I completely sold?  No, not yet.  But I am completely sold on the fact that nutrition is the foundation of a healthy life and a healthy mama is the foundation of a healthy family.

Lets find out what this is all about together, shall we?

